I’ve only been on the internet a LOT for a few short months.  There is so much to learn, and it is interesting and never ceases to be amazing and fun!  I love knowing there are ‘people out there’ who are on-line when I am, no matter what time of day or night.  Furthermore, I don’t think there is a question in this whole world that someone else hasn’t pondered themselves, before me…which is why I can get the answers I need no matter how silly, strange, or seemingly unique that I think they are.

My poor, wonderful set of encyclopedias are not doing much but gathering dust, now, and warping the shelf that holds them.  I don’t even know if anyone would like to have them!  Probably not.  There was a time, however, when they were in constant use either by me or one of my kids.  Most of their purpose was to help me teach my children how to look up an answer to anything by themselves, and not have to rely on someone else to “take care of business” for them.  Every one of them got over their fear of being over-whelmed by the volumes of information, and learned how to focus,  and find what they needed. Through 4 kids, and one grandchild, and moving from place to place with us, my beautiful books have done their job.

When I first started writing in this blog, I didn’t even know where that word came from, and what it meant!  I just started writing.  In the process I cleared a lot of unneeded stuff from my memories (as those who have read the earlier entries know).  It was excellent therapy.  I finally just copied all of it (for future reference in case  one of my kids starts whining again that they “don’t really know me”…in which case I will copy and print the whole darned thing and send it to them!).  Then, I deleted those entries from my blog.  They were no longer needed in a place where I constantly saw them.  They, too, had served their purpose…and quite nicely, I might add.

So what’s next on my agenda?  I have begun sorting piles of pictures, and sending them (Yes…I learned how to scan, and send pictures over the internet!) to kids, grandkids, and anyone that knows I have them and wants copies.  It is a long, arduous job.  It is, however, an eye-opener, not only for me, but for a lot of other folks.

I spent a huge amount of  hands-on time with my kids, and the pictures of all the smiles of  my happy children prove it!  I was constantly trying to make good memories with them so that they would have that to build upon as they went out into the world and began their own lives and families.  I have been a single parent most of my life, and it is not an easy job.  It was especially difficult,  for various reasons,  after we moved to Colorado.  I suspect that my kids remember the tough times and don’t always  remember the fun we had.

Well, guess what, kids!  It may take me months, but I intend to copy our entire  lives, then burn it (Oooo, my vocabulary is improving!) to CD’s.  Next, I will be packing up all the various certificates, special awards, matchbox cars, baseball cards, and everything else from your lives that I have in boxes, and have been dragging around with me for 40 years.  Then, I will be shipping them, and copies of  CD’s, off to their rightful owners!  These are Your memories that I lovingly kept For You.  Preserving them through all your growing up moves, and mistakes, and then accomplishments was a job I willingly accepted. I was hoping that one day you might appreciate having them again.

I know it is going to take me a while to sort through all the pictures,  scan them, and then burn them to CD’s.  I am not under any illusions there.  I have already begun so I do have a little practice.  I don’t mind, though, because it is wonderful trip through Memory Lane.  Also, I can share them with grandchildren as I work.  They get such a kick out of seeing their parents as kids!  And, best of all, it reminds me over and over again that there were a whole lot of happy times in our past.  And this realization is what I am hoping to give to my children.

