When I left my first husband in 1972, I took my 2-year-old daughter and ran away to Colorado.  A couple of weeks later I had a suspicion that maybe there was “more to my family” than just me and one child.  Went to the doctor, and found out I was right.

The doctor looked at me and asked: “So, what are you going to do about this?”

That was a strange question.  I answered: “Looks like I am going to have a baby!”

His reply:  “You already have one child.  Two would be a whole lot harder to raise.  Did you know that  Colorado is one of the first states that has legalized abortion?  You could do That.  Go home and think about it for a couple of weeks.  If you decide you are interested, we will  have you come back into the office for a mental evaluation.  Then, if you pass that, we can handle the rest of  the details.”

I went home and thought for about 1 1/2 weeks.  I kept coming up with the same answer:  This is your daughter’s only full-blooded brother or sister…there will never be any more.  I called the doctor’s office and turned down the “offer.”

So, why am I telling you this?  Because, up until now, my view has always been that I  appreciated being given the opportunity to CHOOSE  to have a legal abortion, or not.  Why?  Because it gave me a very clear insight into my Values.  No one was making that decision for me…it was all mine.  I found out how I, personally, felt. I would never have one.  My feelings on this are very strong…however, they are MY feelings.  I would not be so presumptuous as to think they are the right feelings for everyone, in every situation.

Now, I am about to throw the  glitch into all this thinking:  If making abortion legal and allowing a Woman to decide if she wants to have one or not  is so great an idea because  she can find out how she ‘feels about the issue’., then why not make murder legal so we all have the option of choosing if we want to kill someone or not so we will “know how we feel about this issue?”  Or legalize drug use, or abuse, or theft, or any of a zillion not-so-wonderful things just so we can exercise our free will and find out “how we feel about stuff?”

I am sorry if I offended anyone.  I am truly trying to come to grips with all this.  Why legalize some things, and not others?   Here all along I was just happy with the memory of my choice for my family and what it taught me about me.  Then, as time went on, the rest of this came creeping up to be examined.  Geesh!  I am SO glad I am not running this show!

By the way, I had a baby boy.   He is, and has always been, a  wonderful person.  He is married, now,  and has a son…and another baby on the way.  I wouldn’t have missed this for the world!

